Home / About Us / Faculty


13-1-ratioRenowned Educators Committed to Your Success

The faculty members at Harrisburg University of Science and Technology are outstanding educators as well as scientists or business professionals who possess real world experience in their fields. Our faculty members include both full-time professors and corporate faculty drawn from the business community to share their expansive experience with students. Among our professors are those who hold patents on inventions. Others have helped pioneer emerging fields such as biotechnology, ebusiness, forensic science, e-learning systems, and digital media. When you choose Harrisburg University, you’ve chosen to learn from the leaders, and that means you’ll be better prepared for your future.

What makes our faculty members even more exceptional is that they believe science and technology-based education must be accessible to all. They do everything possible to give you the knowledge and background you need to succeed in a challenging science and technology-focused university.


Albert Sarvis, PMP, GISP

Assistant Professor of Geospatial Technology & Director HU Geospatial Technology Center

Chad Chu

Assistant Professor in Computer Science

Charles Palmer

Executive Director – Center for Advanced Entertainment and Learning Technologies.
Associate Professor of Multimedia

Christine Altieri

Student Services Associate/Asst Professor of English

Dr. Amjad Umar

Director of Management and eBusiness, Director of ISEM Program

Dr. Catherine Santai

Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Dr. Jay Liebowitz

Distinguished Chair in Applied Business and Finance

Dr. Leena Pattarkine

Professor, Biotechnology; Director, Capital Area Biotechnology Partnership; Nanobiotechnology Initiative

Dr. Mehdi Noorbaksh

Professor of International Affairs & Business

Dr. Randolph Ford

Professor of Analytics

Dr. Sam Benigni

Assistant Professor of Physics and Mathematics

Hilary Coulson

Assistant Professor of History

John McKnight

Assistant Professor of Sociology of Emerging Technologies

Majid Shaalan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer and Information Sciences

Mani Akella

Lecturer in Computer Science

Mina Gabriel, MSc

Lecturer in Computer Science

Mohammad Teli

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Nushwan Al-Nakash

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Richard Jackson, M.D.

Associate Professor of Integrative Sciences

Robert Furey, Ph.D.

Professor of Integrative Sciences